Farm for Good™

announcing thw winners of farm for good

Earlier this year, Bayer invited growers to enter to win a $5,000 donation to boost local organizations in their communities through the Farm for Good Sweepstakes. Bayer created this program to support efforts and causes that matter to Southern row crop growers. Ten winners were selected and each directed a $5,000 donation to a nonprofit organization of their choice. The $50,000 in donations will help provide equipment, materials, programming and operational support for local organizations.

To qualify, growers must have planted at least 250 acres of cotton, peanuts, soybeans, corn and/or wheat and be a legal resident of Texas, Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Arizona, Florida or Missouri. No purchase was necessary and entries were limited to one per person. Winners were selected randomly by a third party.

Each of these individuals won $5,000 for their chosen charities. Congratulations!


George Pace Perry Jr.

Tunica, MS
Tunica Museum

The Tunica Museum provides information on the county’s history to area students, visitors and tourists. The donation will be used towards a new air conditioning system to make the museum more comfortable for visitors in summer months.

Tommie Tidwell

Bragg City, MO
Delta C-7 School District

The Delta C-7 School District enrolls approximately 200 students between kindergarten and twelfth grade in Deering, Missouri. The donation will be used to purchase additional laptops for the mobile computer lab at the elementary school.

Clark Carter

Rolling Fork, MS
Sharkey Issaquena 4-H Club

The Sharkey Issaquena 4-H Club includes youth from both Sharkey and Issaquena counties in western Mississippi. The donation will be used towards equipment and resources for various activities such as 4-H Camp, the Junior Wellness Master Volunteers and the Wildlife Habitat Evaluation Program.

Dennis McCord

Cottonwood, AL
Cottonwood High School FFA

Cottonwood FFA has 80 to 90 members each year. The FFA chapter has a school farm and greenhouses, where members can gain hands-on experience and practical skills. The donation will go towards making improvements to the school farm.

Brad Petty

Crandall, GA
Boys and Girls Club of GMW

The Boys and Girls Club of GMW serves approximately 2200 youth in Chattooga, Gordon, Murray and Woodfield counties in Northwest Georgia. The donation will be used to support part-time staff for the afterschool and summer school programs in Murray county.

Jason Eaddy

Lake City, SC
Johnsonville Elementary School

The Johnsonville Elementary School enrolls approximately 460 students in Johnsonville, South Carolina. With the donation, the school plans on purchasing educational materials for science and literacy classes.

Sammy Howell

Como, NC
Como Volunteer Fire Department

The Como Volunteer Fire Department was established in 1967 and has 24 volunteer members. The department plans on using the donation towards upgrading uniforms and equipment and purchasing fire paging technology.

Lowell Carter

Galivants Ferry, SC
United Way of Horry County

The United Way of Horry County serves the local needs and core issues within Horry County, South Carolina. With the donation, the organization plans to invest in afterschool programs that include STEM and early literacy components.

Louis Heckmann

Wallis, TX
Wallis Volunteer Fire Department

The Wallis Volunteer Fire Department was founded in 1930 and is comprised of 13 volunteer members. The department plans on using the donation to replace the Jaws of Life which is used at car accidents or towards purchasing a heater and back-up generator for the fire station.

Steven Beakley

Ennis, TX
ENNIS High School Softball Department

The Ennis High School Softball Department has approximately 45 students participating throughout the year. In addition to playing softball, the students volunteer together in the community. The donation will be used towards purchasing new uniforms and equipment.

Copyright © Bayer CropScience